Shakib Fittings for Bangladesh

Dhaka: Bangladesh score 107 runs after losing 4 wickets after 20 overs chasing 281 runs to win against Sri Lanka in the third and last ODI at the Sinhalese Sports Club Ground in Colombo on Saturday.

Shakib Al Hasan (50) and Mosaddek Hossain (8) were at the crease to lead Bangladesh.

Bangladesh suffered quick fall in the top order as they lost three wickets for 11 runs in 3.3 overs in response to Sri Lanka’s 280.

Opener Tamim Iqbal out with 4 runs as Lankan pacer Nuwan Kulasekara caught and bowled him in the innings very 6th ball.

Sabbir Rahman and Mushfiqur Rahim failed to pair with Soumya Sarkar in the 2nd and 3rd wickets as both were out with ducks.

Sabbir Rahman was caught by Dinesh Chandimal off Kulasekara at 10/2 in 2 overs while Mushfiqur could not survive from lbw, by Suranga Lakmal, after the review.

Opener Soumya Sarkar, scoring crucial 38 runs off 44 balls, went to pavilion stamping by Dinesh Chandimal off Dilruwan Perara while Bangladesh were at 88/4 in 15.1 overs.

Earlier, sent in to bat first, host Sri Lanka scored 280 for 9 in 50 overs where number 3 batsman Kusal Mendis hammered a fifty of 54 off 76 balls, including four boundaries, and number 7 batsman Thisara Perera added quick 52 off 40 balls, witnessing four boundaries and one six.

Thisara Perera was caught by Taskin Ahmed off skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s bowling to depart from 8th wicket that played a crucial partnership innings of 45 off 27 balls.

The 8th pair between Thisara Perera and Dilruwan Perera carried the team total to 275/8 in 49.2 ovrs from 230/7 in 44.5 overs.

Mendis was caught behind by keeper Mushfiqur Rahim off Mustafizur Rahman, leaving team total at 194/5 in 37 overs. Asela Gunaratne scored 34 runs

Danushka Gunathilaka and skipper Upul Tharanga ensured a well of start for Sri Lanka keeping the Tigers bowlers — Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed and Mahmudullah Ryiad — barren up to 10.5 overs before Mehedi Hasan Miraz departed Gunathilaka from opening pair at 76/1.

Soon after the Miraza’s haul for the first breakthrough, Bangladesh’s young pacer Taskin Ahmed bowled out skipper Tharanga at 87/2 in 13.4 overs.

Tharanga stayed for 35 runs while Gunathilaka was caught by Mahmudullah Riyad scoring 34 runs.

Dinesh Chandimal (21) was run out at 136/3 in 25.5 overs, after facing a ball off all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan.

Chandimal’s firm effort saw that the bat was plunked inside, but he lifted it even as both feet were in the air when the bails were dislodged. Taskin threw the ball from the deep point area while keeper Mushfiqur Rahim smartly did the rest work.

Asela Gunaratne scored 34 runs while Dilruwan Perera (15) and Milinda Siriwardana (12) were the other double figure scorers for the side.

Mashrafe captured three wickets for 65 runs in 10 overs. Mustafizur bagged two for 55 also in 0 overs while Miraz and Taskin took one wicket each.

Related Post