Last phase of Lok Sabha polls tomorrow, all eyes on Baranasi

New Delhi,  – The marathon Indian 17th Lok Sabha polls, the world’s largest democratic exercise, will come to an end tomorrow with holding polling in 59 parliamentary constituencies spread over seven states and a union territory.

Over 10 crore voters is expected to decide the fate of 918 candidates from various political parties including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and independent one in the last and 7th phase of the polls.

Polling will be taken place in eight constituencies in Bihar, four in Himachal, three in Jharkhand, eight in Madhya Pradesh, 13 each in Punjab and Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal and one in Chandigarh tomorrow.

Besides, all eyes are now on Baranasi as Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is again contesting from the parliamentary constituency, the BJP’s strong hold where polling would be taken place tomorrow.

He will take on Shalini Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Ajay Rai (Congress) and Atiq Ahmed (Independent) from Baranasi.

In 2014 election, Narendra Modi (BJP) defeated Arvind Kejriwal (AAP) by the margin of 370,000 votes in the constituency.

Campaigning has been ended yesterday (except West Bengal) for the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha election 2019. Political parties across the country are leaving no stone unturned in their attempts to woo the voters.

In West Bengal, violence was taken place between the Trinamool Congress and its arch rival BJP activists during the campaign on Thursday forcing authorities to deploy additional forces to bring normalcy for holding the election in a free, fair and peaceful manner.

The last phase of the parliamentary election will decide the fate of a number of prominent candidates including union ministers, veteran politicians and film actors.

They are union ministers Manoj Sinha (BJP), Ram Kripal Yadav (BJP) and Ashwani Kumar Choubey (BJP), veteran politicians Kiron Kher (BJP), Harsimrat Badal (SAD) and Preneet Kaur (congress), actors Shatrughan Sinha (congress) and Sunny Deol (BJP), the three times Chief minister of Jharkhand Shibu Soren, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee.

Earlier on March 10, the Election Commission of India announced the schedule of the 543-seats Lok Sabha polls, the world’s largest democratic exercise, having nearly 90 crore voters.

The first phase of the polls was held on April 11 while the second phase on April 18, third phase on April 23, fourth phase on April 29, fifth phase on May 6 and sixth phase on May 12.

According to the schedule, the results of the polls Lok Sabha polls would be declared on May 23. The tenure of the current parliament would ends on June 3.

Related Post